Weaning: the challenges and joy

Two massive masses of excruciating, throbbing pain on my chest

Pain that pounds along to the blood coursing through my veins

Eyes heavy and hooded, holding back expressions of pain

I shy away for fear of being kicked or elbowed in the most tender of places

Uuuffffhh!

A kick I didn’t see coming knocks me off my feet, I fail to brace myself

For the waves of pain shooting through my body

I hold our baby girl away from me

Her eyes well up in confusion

She longs to be held

She too is undergoing a transition, a right of passage

From being a milk dependent babe

To a grown up independent toddler

Her body, weary from lack of sleep of the night before,

Her lips peel back to let out cries of hurt, needing her mama

The sweet delicious comfort she has known since birth is snatched away,

Been craddled in the warmth of mummy’s arms

Suckling, a scientifically inexplicable bond

Learning to sleep without aid of suckling milk is a foreign feat

.

Swollen breasts harden, small breast ducts bulging beneath skin

As mum’s brain registers the cues of baby’s cries,

Sends signals to the breast: produce more milk!

Doesn’t matter that milk storages are overfull

.

.

.

With each passing day, the pain reduces, albeit minimally

Baby girl struggles reduce, sleep embraces her with open arms

During the day, mother and daughter slowly learn a new dance

Slowly we advance to the next level of mother-daughter bonding:

Before weaning, she could never sit still for more than two heartbeats

Eager to perfect her walking, increase her speed of running,

Suddenly she is all about cuddles,

Crawling into my lap is now a normal need for mama’s comforting hugs

Independent she grows, confident in her mama’s immoveable love.

.

.

.

My mummy heart expands further than I thought possible

Love fills me, reassurance that the special bond between me and baby girl isn’t lost.

Initial fears now prove a waste of emotional strength

Our mama-daughter bond has evolved, matured, grown and strengthened.

19 thoughts on “Weaning: the challenges and joy

      1. Breastfeeding a child is such a beautiful and natural time, if a woman has time to sit with her child, unhurried and without stress. My son is nearly 26 now, but I remember how peaceful it was, to simple sit with my babe, resting, while he supped at my breast.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow you described the beauty and wonder of breastfeeding so well, i was referring to being glad the pain of engorgement is over

        But to be honest I really really miss those breastfeeding moments…now I can only cuddle her for few moments till she is bounds off my lap to continue exploring

        As I type now she is fast asleep in my arms on our way home from church…I am trying to cherish these moments as she is much longer than the width of my body

        Wow 26 years… I can’t even imagine this wee adorable angel that old and mature haha most I can envision is her at 5 years old 😀 or I can dare try to picture her as a teenager.

        What do u use to bond with your 26yr old son?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My son plays lawn bowls, a game I used to play before I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, and which his father/my husband also plays and I love to watch them both play, whenever I can. He’s extremely good, and I let him know I much I think how good he is at his game.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I have to google lawn bowls…

        Sorry about MS diagnosis.. My dad was initially diagnosed with it but now its something different but autoimmune too

        Its so tough to live with but glad u still find ways to support him & ur hubby in his fav game

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment