Learning Boundaries

No more banging on doors, begging you to let me in

And try and try with all my might

How your heart am I supposed to win?

How can I expect others to respect me

When respect to myself I first must show?

.

From the first day, I was on my knees

All my pleas, your anger can never cease

The tears drip till the heart bleeds dry

Beg and beg, you are deaf to all cry.

.

I dance and fail to move to your tune,

With all my energy, I will my feet to move

To all my sweet charm, you are immune,

My self worth to you I shall never prove.

.

Enough with all my defensiveness,

No more proving my fabulousness,

Time to learn who God made me to be

Pleasing Him is my utmost priority

.

Take ownership, assume responsibility,

Their anger isn’t your fault, you see?

No more saying yes without thinking for myself

Learning to say no without fear of anger consequence

.

I am brave, I am strong

I admit I am wrong,

I can learn, I can grow

I can love you healthily

…..

6 thoughts on “Learning Boundaries

    1. Aw thank you so much Andrea, you have a very discerning eye/ear? 🙂 hmm been doing a lot of reading, learning, reflecting, growing and been conscious about myself and others esp in terms of relationships

      There’s still so much more growing to do 🙂 but am glad I got back in touch with my poetry, much better than using lots of words to try and express inner and outer struggles

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment